Beatification ceremony for Aguchita

The Congregation of Our Lady of Charity of the Good Shepherd celebrates the beatification of Sr. Agustina (“Aguchita”) Rivas (1920-1990) on Saturday, May 7. In the Catholic Church, beatification is the final step before a person is declared a saint. The Livestream Ceremonies of the Beatification will be on Saturday May 7th at 10 a.m. Peru time.

Here are the corresponding time zones for the LIVE STREAM:

EST: 11 a.m.
CST: 10 a.m.
PST: 8 a.m.

On September 27, 1990, Aguchita was killed, together with six inhabitants of the village of La Florida, Peru, by members of The Shining Path. She was carrying out her mission despite the dangers arising from conflicts between the Armed Forces and revolutionaries. It was the first time that an armed group deliberately murdered a religious woman in Peru who was working with the Asháninka people and preaching peace.

The beatification ceremony will take place on Saturday, May 7, 2022, in La Florida, Peru, where Aguchita died. The story of her life is told in this video.

Jeanette McDermott

Jeanette McDermott

Jeanette is the Communications Coordinator for Sisters of the Good Shepherd Province of Mid-North America. She is a career photojournalist who has served in various capacities of print, broadcast, and corporate communications. Jeanette is devoted to creation and is particularly focused on saving pollinators and other wildlife species and their habitat. She is an ethical vegan and created the website veganstoryteller.com